Jobs in Hawaii?

Basically looking to see what, if any maritime jobs exist in Hawaii. Ive been sailing deep sea for the past 6 years on tanker and cargo ships as 2nd and 3rd Mate and I am burnt out. Looking to settle down and get into tug work and I also want to move to Hawaii. I don’t have any tug experience except the ship handling class at Maine Maritime on the Pentagoet. Ive worked on fishing trawlers in the Bering Sea, OSV’s in the GoM. I’m willing to start over as an AB/Deckhand whatever and get my towing endorsement or TOAR and learn everything. I recently looked into Young Brothers and was looking for some other opportunities around Hawaii for maritime work. Seems like a shot in the dark but that’s what the mid watch is for I guess. Any advice, info, contacts, leads much appreciated. thanks

Interisland is primarily Young Bros but Dunlap towing, Western towboat, Kirby, P&L (Tiger tugs), and Sause Bros towing all have operations regularly from mainland to Hawaii. Also could look at Tote, Metson, Matson operate some larger vessels delivering to the islands.

I would not move to an isolated area seeking tugboat work until you are a qualified operator. Just my 2 cents. You could struggle to even land a deckhand job, and be stuck there for years. Also, we are told on these forums by posters in the know that tugboat pay in the islands is not commensurate with the high cost of living. YMMV

2 Likes

Yeah my goal is more to secure work and then move. I currently don’t live anywhere so it’s not a very big deal. It’s not like I’d be uprooting and moving somewhere new in hopes to land a job. Instead of paying off a ship and flying to Thailand or Costa Rica I’ll just take my bags to Hawaii lol :joy:

I would definitely hit up sause and young bros. Also p and r water taxi. MSRC too. You may be able to pick up relief work with them.

1 Like

It’s been along time since I’ve worked inter island in Hawaii. I enjoyed it. I’d do it again for awhile.