Internship

Good Afternoon Everyone,
I’m a freshman at Maine Maritime Academy. My major is Vessel operations and Technology. This summer, students in my major are looking for a Cooperative experience in the maritime industry, typically with tug and barge companies, along with ferry companies and what not. However, I would like to Co-op with a tug/barge company over a ferry company. Does anyone know any tug and barge companies that offer a good Intern program? But since beggers can’t be choosers, if anyone knows any good ferry companies I would appreciate that as well. I have already applied to multiple but am interested in finding and applying to more as well. I have the means to travel and am very flexible with my schedule. I look forward to your feedback. Thanks!

Just pound the pavement with phonecalls to everyone you can possibly think of. This is the right time to be doing it, not in april. Google around and call port captains, operations managers, that kind of thing. HR or personnel people never really were helpful when I was in your shoes. Anytime workboat companies come visit campus go introduce yourself, and ask about any co-op oppourtunities and get business cards.

A side note is that going through that process and finding your own work taught me some valuable skills and helped me get over some anxiety I had in making phone calls to strangers, and its just one more chance to learn how to be an adult in the real world without major consequences.

saw this the other day: https://hmsgm-openhire.silkroad.com/epostings/index.cfm?fuseaction=app.jobinfo&jobid=596&source=ONLINE&JobOwner=992308&company_id=16682&version=1&byBusinessUnit=NULL&bycountry=0&bystate=0&byRegion=&bylocation=&keywords=&byCat=36316&proximityCountry=&postalCode=&radiusDistance=&isKilometers=&tosearch=yes&city=