I'm confused; DDE Unlimited HP/ A/E Limited 1600 Gt. VS A/E (OSV) Unlimited

I’m now studying to take a test. I applied for DDE Unlimited HP, and NMC approved my application. I can also sail as an A/E once I pass DDE, but limited 1600 Gt. Right now I’m on an OSV that is more than 1600 Gt, as a QMED. So even If I pass the test, I still won’t be able to work as an A/E on a 2700 ton because it’s A/E limited . Is it better for me to apply for an A/E (OSV) Unlimited than a DDE/ A/E Limited? Or can I work as an A/E with a DDE AHP License on an OSV 2700 ton?

[QUOTE=seamanloloko;148710]I’m now studying to take a test. I applied for DDE Unlimited HP, and NMC approved my application. I can also sail as an A/E once I pass DDE, but limited 1600 Gt. Right now I’m on an OSV that is more than 1600 Gt, as a QMED. So even If I pass the test, I still won’t be able to work as an A/E on a 2700 ton because it’s A/E limited . Is it better for me to apply for an A/E (OSV) Unlimited than a DDE/ A/E Limited? Or can I work as an A/E with a DDE AHP License on an OSV 2700 ton?[/QUOTE]

DDE cannot work on a vessel (ANY vessel) over 500 GRT, Assistant Engineer cannot work on a vessel (ANY vessel) over 1,600 GRT. See 46 CFR 15.915.

Dosen’t DDE 4000 get you Chief OSV and that’s good for any OSV under 3000 GT right?

[QUOTE=Jemplayer;148735]Dosen’t DDE 4000 get you Chief OSV and that’s good for any OSV under 3000 GT right?[/QUOTE]

You still need a license other than DDE or Chief Limited to work on a vessel over 500 GRT or 1,600 GRT. You still need to “get” the Chief Engineer (OSV) or Assistant Engineer (OSV) license. Just because you could get it doesn’t mean you can work on a vessel over 1,600 GRT without actually getting it.