Hey Ya'll, I am new the forum

Hey everybody, my name is Jaime and I am about to retire from the Navy after 25 years of submarine service and am looking forward to starting the next chapter of my life in the Marine industry.

I have been lurking on this forum for a few months and decided it is time to register and jump in. I am a machinist mate and so far have attended BST course and submitted my application to the NMC for QMED Oiler in September. So far, it is past the medical part and has been “waiting to be assigned an evaluator” since 18 November. I am glad that I started this entire process early because it sure does take a long time!

My ultimate goal is to qualify and serve as a Chief Engineer. I don’t want to serve on a vessel that sails across the “big” ocean, I would rather stay close to land. Right now, I am hoping to get hired on as a QMED oiler onboard an OSV in the Gulf of Mexico and start building up my recency seeing as how I am retiring after 3 years of shore duty.

Any and all advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks

Recent Retired Marine here of 22 years and all I can tell you is patience and don’t get caught listening to sea lawyers as to what you should and should not do. The only way is to make sure you see it in writing and go from there. There are a lot of people out that will steer ya wrong because they feel threatened because they think ya here to take their job. At least that’s what I have experienced in my year and some change here already.

Good luck!

You just need to call the NMC with your application number etc handy and express concern that it hasn’t been assigned to an evaluator; if they say its normal and to be patient then that maybe understandable with thanksgiving. That’s all you can do at this point I’d say. Phone has worked better than email for me.