Haws Pipe a Viable Option?

Hi All,

I am new to this forum and have strongly considered going into the maritime industry for several years now. I am currently just about to graduate college and the thought of working in an office doesn’t seem very appealing too me. I am sure you guys have heard this about a million times before, however my situation I think is a little bit different. I currently work in the sport-fishing industry in Southern California and have had my 100 master near coastal for about 3.5 years. According to my research I will have enough time to get a 150 ton master oceans/ 500 ton mate license very soon and a AB special (no sea time on vessels over 100 tons, majority spent on boats between 67-100 tons) .I love working on the water but I don’t want to be dependent on a volatile industry like the one I’m in too make a living. I have been in school for the last 5 years and going for another 4 years to a maritime school and spending even more money doesn’t sound very appealing either. I am especially interested in working on tug boats and have been looking at the work boat academy, although I am not ruling working on a large ship. So basically I have 2 routes that I have come up with ;

[U]Hawspipe[/U]: (15,000 dollars, 1-2 years) Getting my AB special along with my 100 ton , then after getting hired shell out the money too upgrade too a 500 ton mate or, get the one year of required sea time over 100 tons and upgrade too 500 ton/ 1600 ton master and hopefully get a master/ mate of towing endorsement

[U]School:[/U] (33,000, 2 years) Going to one of the Work Boat Academies and spending 2 more years too get a 500 ton/ 1600 ton mate with towing endorsement

(80,000, 4 years)Going to one of the Maritime Academy

Basically I have a quite a few questions:

1. Is it viable to get hired with no tug experience and an AB special/ 100 ton masters? Would getting a 500 ton mate before being hired be a gamble or a sure thing to getting hired?