AB to apprentice mate or 500 ton mate?

Hello All,

Ive been working on inland ship assist tugs with Moran for over 2 years now, started as OS deckhand now have AB (held for over 90days). To work as Mate with the company they want you to hold no less than a 500 ton mate of towing inland. Is it worthwhile to take the apprentice steersman course at one of the schools and then upgrade to 500 ton (if possible) or to study on my own and sit for the 500 ton mate inland at the REC? I have all the appropriate sea time and will go to SUNY Fort Skylar for advanced fire fighting and radar observer. TOAR will be a bit tricky considering all we do is ship assist and never make up to any barges! Any info or help on the subject is greatly appreciated considering every mate I work with is a academy grad and hasn’t taken this route (AKA “Through the Hawsepipe”)

You’re talking about two distinctly different types of licenses. An apprentice steersman is 200 tons (or 100) depending on how much, and what tonnage vessels you’ve been on. It takes about three years seatime to do this license. A 500 ton takes 4 or 5 years seatime.

The 500/1600 is a higher level license. How much sea time do you have?

The simple answer would be to ask HR to get on an actual tug that does coastwise towing. There are several options, you have cement barges, container barges, some oil, (NOT ATB) ask to move around to get more experience.

From what I have heard the maritime academy’s schools are NOT geared toward hawsepipers. You can go to a local school and get the whole thing done in three weeks, and be finished. Most of the courses/diplomas will let you skip some tests at the REC, but some you will have to take there.