33yo thinking of a career change

I posted in this forum a few years ago about this but recently the itch has returned. The sea is calling.

My main question is whether it’d be better for someone like me to go University route or Union. Was thinking about SUNY as I’d be able to pay in-region tuition (I live in NJ). Also am I too old to consider school route? Or at least old enough where Union makes more sense?

-I have an undergraduate degree in Business from a decent school (3.3 gpa) I don’t use and could potentially transfer some credits. Maybe for the grad program?

-Currently work in Trucking as a driver. It’s an easy/chill job and I make ok money (85k) and don’t have to sleep in the Truck or anything like that. It’s a clean, legit.job. Also I think it’s at least somewhat similar to maritime resume/experience wise.

-I have a decent amount saved up (enough for 10+ years) and no debt family kids etc.

I’d love to start as a 3rd mate but it seems even going through university route it will be pretty hard to land a 3m job unless there is a huge shortage. However it also seems making it to 3m as an ABS / hawsepipe is really difficult / close to impossible.

If I did choose the school route, would I need to start from scratch as an undergraduate?

I think if I went Union route I might just go for Engine department.

Anyway this was me just brainstorming. Thoughts would be appreciated.

1 Like

If you can hack it financially by giving up your income then I would 100 percent go to a school for your third mates license. I hawse-piped it (not within a union) to an unlimited license and did it all on my off time ,and it’s getting harder and harder to do it that way. The union programs would be your best bet if you decided to go the hawsepipe route.

Hands down you would get your third mates license much faster by going to the academy, especially if you got into the masters program because I believe that’s only 3 years but I could be wrong.