Career advice - Hawsepipe or MITAGS?

Hi All,

Looking for a little career advice.

First question: I’m in my late 20’s and I currently working as a ferry captain in New York, with a 100 ton license. I’m pretty interested in moving to a sector of the industry with more room for advancement and Tugs seem like a great place to work. I’m wondering what the best route from the deck to the pilothouse is for a person with 5+ years of (inland) seatime? I understand the workboat academy can confer a 1600ton Mate of towing license in 2 years, this seems like a pretty attractive option, but I’m wondering if it’s the best way to make use of the sea time I’ve already logged? Since I live in NY, SUNY Maritime AAS or the Masters program are also options…

Second: I’m thinking about sending out some resumes and seeing if the tug life works for me. I have no experience on a towing vessel and absolutely want to start from the bottom and learn every aspect of the job thoroughly, is it best to apply for positions as an OS or to get my AB special and apply?

Thank you!

Get an AB, then get a job on a tug, then get a 500/1600 ton near coastal, depending on your time it may be easier to go right to master.

I don’t get why more 100-ton people don’t have an AB. They really limit their options for employment where an AB is usually worth more than the 100-ton license. Not a rant directed at you personally, just an observation.

The academy route is only good if you want the degree at this point and need hand-holding on the license. They’re great if you don’t already have sea-time but you should be able to move up in a couple years (2-3) on tugs vs 4 years at an academy plus a year or two as a training bitch on a tug (5-6). Workboat academy doesn’t sound like a bad deal but it would depend on how long you’d have to wait to get in and everything.

http://www.uscg.mil/nmc/checklists/default.asp

I am working my way out of a similar situation.