Deep sea vs tugs

Hi I’ve scanned through the forum, found many posts about deep sea to tugs. I’m asking about the opposite. I’m a SUNY grad. 3/M unlimited. Have experience on a tug out of NY. Will have my toar in a few months with only an inland distinction.
I’ve been strongly considering making a transition to deep sea. I want to sail on my license. Make some decent money. And see some interesting places.
However, I am happy on my boat. The guys are work with are excellent. They’ve taught me a lot and I’m grateful for that. But I do know that the harbor isn’t going anywhere anytime soon. But my license will if I don’t use it.
Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Go join MMP and see what you can get. It’s certainly a different world.

I don’t believe you’ll lose the unlimited license just because you’re sailing limited tonnage vessels, if that’s one of your concerns.

MMP is one way to go, at least you can travel around a bit stateside between halls and make a little adventure out of finding jobs. Call me a sadist but I find the hiring hall system exciting.

1 Like

Well thank you. I appreciate it. Seems deep sea is the direction to go at the moment

You won’t lose your current license (national endorsement) if you work inland and/or on vessels of “limited” tonnage. You can renew a national endorsement even if you do not have any sea time. For your STCW, if you work inland and want to maintain the STCW endorsements, you may not be eligible for STCW “:revalidation” courses and may need to take longer “refresher” courses for Basic Training, Advanced Firefighting, and Proficiency in Survival Craft. You can also let your STCW lapse and still maintain the national endorsement.

1 Like

He works on a tug.