Un-Limited Verses Limited License Holders Choice

Ok, here is a question for everyone and I would hope that all will respond honestly.

If the Deep Sea U.S. Flag Fleet was still going strong and there were jobs to be had (without having to wait in the halls for one to open up) how many of those with an Un-Limited License would still want to make a career out of sailing on Tugs or working out in the Oil Field in the Gulf? I ask because I made the decision to work on Tugs as I liked the idea of having a permanent job (if there is such a thing now a days) and also having a better schedule and not having to be gone for months on end.

Let’s not make this a pissing match on who or what License should be required.

I look forward to hearing everyone’s thoughts.

While at the academy I worked as a deckineer on tugs for the experience and to help pay for school. When I graduated I applied to every company that had US Flag unlimited tonnage hopper dredges. I intended to move my license up but had no real desire to sail deep sea and be on a ship for months on end. Been there done that. I thought the 28/28 schedule was about as good as it gets. When I was completed with my license upgrades it was time for a change of benefits. Tired of getting the short end of the stick from my “labor agency”. I moved over to a GOM boat company. So basically I have been on workboats most of my career and intend to keep it that way. Nothing against deep sea. Some deep sea runs seem great, particularly the Jones Act runs. Just not my thing.

Honestly I’d rather be out for months then home for months. I wish the US had more vessels engaged in international trade.

If there was a stronger fleet beyond MSC sailing internationally I would have considered going that way far more than I did. I like my tugboat thing but it seems the good truly commercial runs are so few and far between, taking you to shitholes where you can party and see the world. They’re out there but not a dime a dozen.

good thread