Starting over with a 100 Master & 200 Mates & AB. What would you do?

I’m looking to get into a different industry. I have a west coast commercial fishing background and have a 100 Master, 200 Mate, AB Unlimited. I have never needed/used these except to get slightly better insurance rates for my fish boats. I have a college degree and will not be going to an academy.

I’ll be starting at the bottom anywhere I go. I’m curious to hear opinions on what you would do if you were in my shoes.
Thanks!

There are a lot of crewboat/mini supply boat companies in the gulf hiring 100 t/200t deck officers. Some non-dp too. Downside of that is, not sure what kind of longevity you would get going that route.

ABs are in high demand right now. You didn’t mention if you have all the stcw stuff to go with it. If you do, you could do tugs, osvs or ships depending on how long you want to be gone and what your ultimate goal is. Most tug companies don’t require the stcw endorsements because they are under 200 grt.

Plenty of tug companies on the west coast. Get an AB spot then work on getting your mate of tow. Plenty of threads on here about the various paths. May be good to sail as an AB, upgrade your deck license then have a quicker path to the wheelhouse. Lots of options out there these days, but if i was you i would avoid the 100 ton boats and use your AB somewhere because that will open more doors down the road and provide longevity for your career.

2 Likes

I’d second that. Get an AB job on a tug and work towards getting your TOAR. AB pay is pretty good these days and no shortage of opportunities. Sky is really the limit from there…

1 Like

Thank you for the reply. I have signed up for an STCW course.
Your gulf boat tip is something that was not on my radar. But like you mentioned- I am leaning towards a path using the AB and upgrading.