New to tug boats

Hi all, this is my first post to gcaptain. I am a recent maritime school grad looking to work on tug boats in the North East, preferably NY. I graduated with my 3/M unlimited and have no experience on tug boats. I have some ideas of where I would like to work and most companies have tugs with under 100 gt. I have a few questions:

1. I know I will need to get a TOAR but would I need a Near Coastal or Inland TOAR to be operating in new york harbor and runs in long island sound or down the coast?

2. If I get on a boat with a DE and get my toar, what is my next step… and will that toar give me a master or mate of towing endorsement?

3. Is my 3/M License equal to a 100 ton master? I Looked in the CFR’s and I couldnt find it anywhere.

4. How do I upgrade my license to a 200 ton or 1600 ton?

5. Is it possible to upgrade to my 2/M unlimited if I am only working on tug boats less than 100 tons.

And a totally random question:
What would I have to do to work on yachts as a mate/master? I dont know much about it but it seems like it would be a fun gig to try.

I know I have asked alot of questions that might require complicated answers…thank you to anyone who might respond. I know some classmates were also wondering the same and it would clear up alot of confusion.

Thanks!
John

1 Like
  1. N/C
  2. Your next step is to start learning, and get to the point where you can pass the assessments. You’ll qualify for Mate of Towing.
  3. Yes.
  4. Seatime +test. Look on the USCG Homeport site for more info.
  5. No.
    Random answer: Do you like to clean toilets and serve cocktails to assholes? Then a yacht job is for you.

Try out our search function as well. All the answers to your questions have been posted, amid much discussion, already.

Where did you go to school? They didn’t give you your fake TOAR? They don’t have the answers to these questions? Get your money back.

Welcome to the forum!