Background checks and horror stories

So I don’t have a criminal background(other than tickets) but I was arrested a few times as a juvenile. I did get an MMD card about a year ago without any problems but now I’m wondering if I apply for a license in a few years is my background still OK? I’m worried that after spending so much time and money on school that there is a chance I could get denied. Have there been horror stories of academy graduates being denied by the coust gaurd etc…?

I’m not a lawyer, or an expert on this subject, but I’ve got my own past issues that the Coast Guard has to be told about every five frickin’ years so I understand your concerns.<br><br>I’ve heard that in most cases, juvenile records are sealed, but you’d be wise to be up front about your arrests.Were you ever convicted of anything, especially a drug related felony? Those are usually the
most difficult to overcome. Your best bet is to detail your past
truthfully. Hopefully you did just that when you applied for your MMD. You’ll have to explain why if you didn’t. The worst thing you can do is to lie on an application. Make a complete list of the events in your checkered past to submit with your application, and keep a copy you can submit with your packet every time you make an application to the Coast Guard and this way you’ll be consistent every time.<br><br>Cap’n A

I didn’t mention any arrests on my MMD application. I never had a felony and everything I was arrested for was a differed judgment or something along those lines. I went to county records in my hometown and got a background check and it was all clear. My thinking was that if there isn’t anything on my record why should I open up a can of worms by listing things on my MMD application? Now it sounds like I made a mistake. Is there a coast gaurd contact for these things?<br><br>My father was recently interrigated at a US/Canada border over a drug charge from the 70’s! you just can’t live these things down.