Army Mariner employment

Hello to all,

I am a US Army Warrant Officer reservist, in training to advance to Marine Deck Officer. I will complete my training at Ft Eustis VA in June of 2011. I would like to gain employment on the civilian side of the industry. When I finish school I will be assigned as vessel master of an LCU-2000 class Army vessel. I have 6 years at sea as of now.

I thought I would ask the experts how to go about this. Should I just shoot out resumes when I finish school, should I contact employers before I finish. Just looking for a starting point. I am also posting this in the employment forum.

Very Respectfully

WOC David Cox

Candidate Cox,

Did you post the same thing in another area of the site or am I just going crazy?

~Jon

Are you going to have a civilian Coast Guard license when you finish this school?

From Proceedings magazine…

http://www.uscg.mil/nmc/proceedings/training_education_pdfs/66%20ARMY.pdf

Army mariners do receive USCG approved training.

I’d be interested in hearing more from our new Warrant Officer regarding his experiences as an Army Mariner.

Welcome, sir…

[quote=ArmyWO;27109]Hello to all,

I am a US Army Warrant Officer reservist, in training to advance to Marine Deck Officer. I will complete my training at Ft Eustis VA in June of 2011. I would like to gain employment on the civilian side of the industry. When I finish school I will be assigned as vessel master of an LCU-2000 class Army vessel. I have 6 years at sea as of now.

I thought I would ask the experts how to go about this. Should I just shoot out resumes when I finish school, should I contact employers before I finish. Just looking for a starting point. I am also posting this in the employment forum.

Very Respectfully

WOC David Cox[/quote]