Army officer to merchant marine?

Hey guys,
Have enjoyed reading on here for some time. I’m an army captain that is transitioning out of the army after being on active duty for the past 5 years. Hate to leave the secure life on one hand but on the other am ready for some new challenges. I am wondering if any other army guys have ever switched over to the merchant marine? I grew up working summers on crab boats and have always loved being on the water and working hard. I have looked at the PMI-MITAGS workboat academy and am seriously considering doing it since I have a bachelors degree already. I have looked through a lot of posts on here about it and just wanted to hear any current opinions about it. Also with the way the economy is seems like their are a lot of licensed guys floating around w/o jobs so is this still in demand at all? Well thats about it just need to know if I’m officially crazy or not for thinking about doing this. Thanks for any replies

Rigg-Welcome!

I’m not Army but have worked with several ex Army guys- they all seemed well suited to working on ships.

Couple of things-

1- Being ex military gives you hiring preference at MSC NOAA, Army Corp of Engineers boats- etc:)

2- If you have a mate’s license there are still opportunities. Maybe not as many, maybe not as desirable, but there is work (especially if you’ll sail as AB to start) Whoever you apprentice with through PMI will likely hire you…

3- Lastly- and most importantly- why couldn’t you have added an “S” to the end of your user name?:stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks OS…lol, yeah my nickname has always been Rigg/Riggs because right or wrong I usually try to rig some stuff together to help get things done. I may have to borrow that for an avatar… I’ve got a TWIC already and am waiting on an MMC/MMD

Welcome Rigg,

The is another member here that just went through PMI ,Mt Skiier…He’s been really busy studying but he’ll be along shortly…

Rigg- how old are you?