Another dumb union question

Hey! Im a Chief Engineer and was recently hired by Crowley. I’m on a ATB that mainly stays on the west coast. I’m very happy so far with Crowley and the tug I’m on but I eventually want to move to ships. Tankers or container , so my question is can I be in 2 different unions at the same time? I’m IBU right now but I was told that most of the ships managed by Crowley are SIU. I’m new to unions in general.

Thanks

Congrats on your new job, Chief! I’d would caution not to join more than one union at a time. However, if you want to work on ships with Crowley, AMO is the union you should apply with. Application is free. Ask your crewing coordinator if there is a position available for you on one of the ships/tankers. A lot of folks make the switch from ATBs to tankers. Not uncommon. The industry in general is short at all positions, so it is a good time to transition if that’s is what you want to do.

1 Like

Crowley Tankers are AMO. There’s a mass exodus on crowley ATBs right now so put your name in to switch to tankers but be prepared to wait a few years for that to happen.

1 Like

There’s also a mass exodus from Crowley tankers so I’m doubting he’ll have to wait that long. Maybe sail as 1st for a while, though

1 Like

Everyone chasing money in the gulf?

I saw for engineers they are offering sign on bonuses and they bumped their day rates up significantly.

Yeah, pay is sub par, equipment isn’t in the best shape. New ballast water treatment systems have been a major headache.

1 Like

Thank you for the advice !

Thank you! I have heard some people complaining and talking about going to other companies. If it goes well here I’m hoping to stay.

I had an engineer that bounced between the MEBA and IBU (dredge work). I am not sure how that ultimately worked out. Can’t believe it was much of a home life as he worked towards retirement from 2 union plans.