500-1600 ton Master NC to Third Mate, Why is it so Hard?

This question is mainly directed at Mr. Cavo but anyone that has any advice would be helpful.

Right now i am in a battle with the USCG. I have a 1600ton master upgrading to third mate. Why? To get my Unlimited Masters. They are telling me that i cannot go from master to mate b/c i do not have OICNW on my license ( STCW II/1) but I have OICNW (STCW II/2) which is for chief mates and masters. They say that a Mate can go to Mate but a Master cannot go, also because I have only had a masters license and never a mate that i would not have the OICNW (STCW II/1).

They want me to take 18,000 dollars worth of classes that i have already tested on just to get my third mate. I have a 1600 ton master which is higher than a third.

What’s the deal???

The guys going thru this will give ya the straight dope, I’ll just say that this subject has been discussed ad naseum on the forum, do a search on here. It’s probably has to do with you getting your Masters license before any schools were required and now they are requried and the Grandfather deal is dead. On an unlimited tonnage vessel, a 1600 Master is actually junior to a 3rd Mate BTW. Lots feel your pain with regards to the dollars for school issue, me included. Welcome to the club.

Maybe the Coast Guard will change the rules just for you! Perhaps the NMC can create a create a new upgrade category for all of those captains in your situation. It could be called : “1600-ton masters who are good guys and know what they are doing”.

Short of that, you could take the classes like the rest of us.