10 Coast Guard Engineer, 6 years Seatime, Need Advice

I am about to complete my MMD process and was given the QMED rating but really don’t understand the testing process that I am looking forward to at the Coast Guard REC. My experiance was primarily as CAt master mechanic, Engineering officer of the watch inport/at sea as well as AUX team leader (boilers, pumps, A/C’s, Reefers ect…) What tests should I take as endorsements on my QMED and what areas should I study? I have very little electrical experience and no formal Ac/R training rather hands on. Also, are there many job’s available to me with MSC? Anyone answering some of these questions will be most appreciated. I haven’t been to sea since 2004 but have spent most of my adult life at sea. Thanks in advance for your knowledge and assistance.

There are jobs for QMEDs at MSC, 3 of them are open for hiring now: http://www.sealiftcommand.com/resources/now-hiring

Thanks for the reply. Any additional information in regards to my posted questions will be greatly appreciated.

You gotta have a TWIC (probably already do, right?)
Take STCW BST (Basic Safety Training)
Lifeboatman
Advanced Firefighting
Get some seatime (sounds like you only need 90 days recency)
Get your RFPEW (Rating Forming Part of an Engineering Watch) signed off
Learn to find information in the CFR’s. (46 CFR 11.501 has the Engineering license structure)
Take a basic electricity course and a refrigeration theory course

Check out AmericanTrainco.com

Sit for DDE exam. Don’t bother with additional QMED ratings.

If you know your shit, all Coast Guard exams are easy as pie.

SeaDog, THX. I heard from a friend that is the way to go and only 150 questions for DDE. Will that rating/endorsement cover any HP or size of ship? Also, taking the designated duty engineer test?, is that a hard test or at least what should I study? I appreciate you reply and look forward to others. Fair Winds and Following Seas.

Lance