1.5 days for 12 hour work-day

Been off the site and out sailing for a few months. I’m looking to upgrade and just crossed the 60 days I’m looking for to reapply. THEN…I heard a rumor yesterday that the NMC is No Longer Recognizing a 12 hour days work on an OSV as time-and-a-half??? Anyone have any insight on this??? I’m trying to figure out if I can reapply now or if I need another hitch. I found the CFR’s regarding the 1.5 credit. Have they just changed or is it still the same.

I just received the 1.5 day credit a little over a week ago.

I applied for an upgrade a few months back and didn’t have any issue with 12 hours days. I have heard of qmeds having problems though.

My problem is getting it properly documented on my seatime letters. I got screwed out of over a week of time because noaa corps writes ours and they don’t know the cfrs so getting things straight requires a Herculean effort.

I am no lawyer specializing in the NMC although there is one who helps out on here, BUT, unless thats in a NVIC, Federal Register, or CFR, I don’t think they can just suddenly stop accepting the time. Remember, it depends on whether or not the vessel is officially allowed to run a two-watch system and they will definitely check on that. The letter needs to be precisely/properly worded as well.

If I had a letter on me, I’d type out what it says so you could tell them what it needs to say. Maybe someone with a 12 hour sea time letter with them could do that?

[QUOTE=gulf_engineer;123933]If I had a letter on me, I’d type out what it says so you could tell them what it needs to say. Maybe someone with a 12 hour sea time letter with them could do that?[/QUOTE]

Here’s the language from a letter used earlier this year: