What do you bring with you fishing?

Hi guys. Can you list the things you bring with you when fishing at Bristol bay? I’m leaving in a couple of days and its my first time so I have no clue what to bring. Thanks!

A some beer is my first choice but I doubt that is what you are looking to hear.

1 Like

Some decent rain gear/slickers, pair of xtratuff boots, maybe some sole inserts for the boots, insulated rubber gloves, knife, set of dikes (diagonal pliers), plenty of toiletries/medication and warm clothes.

Not sure how long you are going to be up there, but alaska wireless GCI is the best cell carrier up there. At&t works the best in the more populated areas. Every other carrier is hit and miss…so you may wanna invest in a prepaid GCI phone.

Good to have cash on you in remote alaska, i learned the hard way. Can’t expect all the conveniences of securing sundries like in the lower 48 even pre-pandemic times.

1 Like

Commercial trip or pleasure?

Where are you located currently? That will give me some idea on what you can get in a couple of days.

Find out how much space you have onboard. Bristol bay boats are 32’ long. That’s tiny. Don’t bring a bunch of junk thinking you might need it
Bring a 60 day supply of any medication you’re on and make sure the skipper knows you’re on it.

Don’t bring heavy warm clothing. Heat is in the work and anyways it’s not that cold in the bay. Light, LIGHT sweatpants, long sleeved shirts and 20 pairs of socks. Maybe 2 light hoodies. Two pair of jeans max. One work and one town. Get a little bottle of Downy Unstoppables laundry pellets.

Don’t bring insulated gloves or heavy work gloves. Get two 12 packs of Atlas 620 orange gloves in your size and a box of Venom nitrile gloves in your size. When your hands start to get sore throw the nitrile gloves on before your regular gloves and change the nitrile ones whenever you have a second.