Wanting to switch

I’m currently an OS (hawspiper) aboard a Great Lakes freighter. Any of you who have been on one can likely agree that, in all honesty, it kind of sucks. I understand ocean sailing is an entirely different working experience, and I am really itching to try it out, although I’m still new to sailing in general. It seems to be just as hard to get your foot in the door of ocean sailing as it was to get a maritime job in general, so I’m wondering what my best bet is. I know I need to get my STCW before anything else and I already have my passport. Should I go to a union hall and wait for an opportunity that way? (I signed up with SIU when I was hired). I’ve considered going to Piney Point as well but I’m uncertain about it. Maybe some of you more experienced fellas will tell me that I have a great job and would be making a huge mistake by trying to leave it; maybe someone here’s been in the same situation, or has done both G.L. and ocean and can tell me which they liked better…let’s hear your input.

First you have to learn the lingo …

1 Like

They are hiring OS’s in the GOM. One big player has their own training center and that is an avenue for the STCW training.

Having been through MSC training, ECO’s training center is surprisingly very high quality and the instructors care about the standards. Overall great training center. Taking rigging, huet, and some other classes there you learn a lot.

1 Like

It’s really not that much different, I’ve sailed both Great Lakes and oceans. Just remember, the grass isn’t always greener on the other side.

3 Likes

What specifically do you think would be different about an OS job deep sea? I’ve sailed Lakes a little, deep sea, and supply boats and the OS is one of the jobs that probably differs the least.

2 Likes