Want to switch from brown water to blue...osv's

Hi, new to the forum and looking for some help. Been researching on web and here and gonna continue that but am hoping someone is willing to give me some direct advice or just answer any questions I can’t seem to find answers to.

Ok I currently work as a captain on a passenger boat on the ohio river. That’s where all my experience has been. Just taking people out for a cruise and coming back, lunch, dinner, sightseeing, etc. currently have a 500 GRT master 1600 GRT mate western rivers. Western rivers radar observer. USCG basic and advanced fire fighting. TWIC. FCC MROP. First aid and CPR. That’s it. So from what I’ve read I will have to start as a deckhand and work my way up. Which is fine with me. It appears most coastal jobs need things like stcw95 and AB, lifeboatman, and such to get jobs further up the line. Even if you don’t take into account that I have no experience in the gulf.

But one of the things I’m trying to find out is do companies hire deckhands without stcw95? Or do I need to go get that on my own if I want a job? If you don’t have to have it to be a deckhand would it help me start out as OS if I had it or is there more to getting an OS job than just having stcw? I don’t think I qualify for any of the AB ratings, maybe AB special not sure though. But if I got that would that even count for anything down there? I mean to help get a deckhand job, I don’t expect to get an AB job right out of the gate even if I got the AB special and it counted for anything. I have experience obviously, just none what so ever in gulf or on supply and crew boats.