Validating my Spanish credentials and certificates to USA standards

Hello fellow mariners, I’m new to the forum, so first of all here’s a protocolary round for everybody :slight_smile:

So, I studied my Vocational Training in Marine Engineering in Spain, and after being enrolled at sea for 90 days I gained my qualifications as an Engine Rating (STCW III/4), or Rating forming part of an Engine-Room watch.

I am also in possession of the following Certificates of Specialty (all of them in concordance with IMO standards):

• Familiarization and Basic Safety Training (STCW VI/1)
  • Proficiency in Security Awareness and Designated Security Duties (STCW VI/6)
  • Specialization of Medical Care on Board (STCW VI/4)
  • Passenger Ships (STCW V/2)
  • Advanced Firefighting (STCW VI/3)
  • Survival Crafts and Rescue Boats other than Fast Rescue Boats (STCW VI/2.1)
  • Fast Rescue Boats (STCW VI/2.2)
  • Basic Training for Liquified Gas Tanker Cargo Operations (STCW V/1-2)

I am living in the US as a Permanent Resident and would like to start getting my paperwork ready to join the American Merchant Marine (TWIC and MMC). I already hold my Z-Card in international format issued in Spain. So my question is: would it be possible to validate all my paperwork in America? I would assume so, since everything has been issued according to the International Maritime Organization standards, but I want to be sure if this.

It is my fondest desire to work offshore, on LNG carriers if possible, and work my way up to Engine Officer, obtain my citizenship and continue my studies and days at sea to be able to become a Chief Engineer some day.

Any opinions and advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance to everybody willing to participate in this topic.

May the wind gods be favorable to you all :slight_smile:

Dont know myself but you can call the National Maritime Center at:
1-888-472-5622.