Training in the industry.... WTF!?!

I’m looking for some advice from those who’ve traveled the screwed up and unpaved path for become a wheelman/pilot. I work for a company that does in house training but have been severly screwed over in the last 5 1/2 years. I got so fed up I went and got my apprenticeship liscense for up to 200 ton inland and western rivers but still have no luck getting anywhere here. I’m now on the verge of my liscense expiring. Can anyone give me some advice about what company will actually train people to advance their career? My goal is to learn and train on inland tow boats before having a linear transition to a tractor harbor tug possibly even ocean going tug with a sea barge. I have 5 1/2 years vast experience in my field but am considered a black sheep for standing up for what is right with the “people in charge.” Any help and advice is welcome here.Why is it so difficult to become a wheelman in this industry? It’s the whole reason I wanted to come out here, I love the job and I’m tired of paying my dues for nothing.

I think you have to stop thinking your entitled or relying on someone else pay for your training
I have a master 1600 ton oceans and never had a company pay one cent towards any of it.
Good luck with your search.

[QUOTE=Dingo;79844]I think you have to stop thinking your entitled or relying on someone else pay for your training
I have a master 1600 ton oceans and never had a company pay one cent towards any of it.
Good luck with your search.[/QUOTE]

I didn’t read that he is looking for a company to foot the bill. He already got his apprentice license on his own, and is looking for an opportunity to use it with a company before it expires.

Sorry cntrydog if I read your post wrong,
Are you short on sea time to renew your license?