Shipyard Basics

I am a project manager for a new company. Our goal is to refit a vessel for an eventual voyage to the Equatorial Pacific. One of my jobs is to determine the cost of a refit from various shipyards.

As a former submariner, I have familiarity with the shipyard environment, but not necessarily cost determination.

I am curious if anyone would have advice on this? Thanks!

I think one of the first questions to ask is where are you looking to do the refit. That in itself can be a large variation in cost.

-Define refit - what’s the scope of work? Are you planning a re-flagging as part of this?

-Define existing vessel - state of current systems and equipment. Will new features or equip be required.

The question is sort of a “how long is a piece of string”

Have you written a SY specification yet? Any individual scopes of work?

A hopefully tight spec and some contract language is usually developed to be sent to yards.

Tree fiddy

2 Likes

If you’re PMing that project and you and no one on your team has that experience, you should consult with someone who does. Feel free to PM me, I do shipyard project management work. As someone else said it all comes down. To where you’re doing it and the scope of work, start there.

I have to agree, provide details of the vessel you want to “refit”. Lot of old farts here that can give you a quick idea of how much you will spend.

And the loch ness monster will do the labor!

Remember; there are always surprises popping up when repairing/converting ship/boats. The older the ship the more surprises.

1. Do a detailed survey of the vessel. Get professional help if necessary.
  2. Prepare a detailed list of items to be repaired / conversions to be done. Include EVERYTHING that MAY be necessary.
  3. Go to 3 or more shortlisted shipyard and ask for offer. Ask for itemized price for each job on the list, not lump sum. Adding item/change orders are expensive. (bread and butter for many yards/workshops)