Looking for some general information

I have used the search function before asking my questions and have gotten some good information I think, however, how do I know if I am asking the right questions since I know diddly?

I am wanting to work in the merchant mariner industry but I live in Oklahoma where there is zero work like this. I have been saving up and NOW have saved enough money to get the following training and documents:

• TWIC Card
  • USCG CG 719K/E Medical Certificate
  • US Passport
  • SCTW basic training from MITAGS

Question 1) I have zero experience in this industry and just turned 21. I have a Real ID State Drivers License and a high school diploma. I currently work two jobs (BBQ stand and my own lawn mowing and yard care) Am I missing something from the training and documents I listed that a noob like me would need to get hired?

Question 2) How is the job market for Ordinary Seaman right now, anywhere? I’m willing to move anywhere for this work. Are there more job opportunities for someone like me on the east coast, west coast, and Alaska, where should I be looking? I read a post where someone said to not try and find a job online but to instead drive to the area, is that still applicable nowadays when everything is online?

Question 3) I know this one is hard to answer but what is the average annual salary one can expect in this industry. I have checked glassdoor but all I know to lookup are Ordinary and Able Seaman and those show an average of $55,819 for Ordinary and $66,589 for Able, per year. How accurate are those?

Thank you in advance for your time and help.

Get those documents, and your MMC. No further training needed. Start searching for and applying to OSV companies in Louisiana. They are all hiring OS’s right now, you’ll be scooped up right away.

Some want you to apply in person, but see what phone calls and online applications/zoom interviews you can do before having to travel. I know you can apply online with Hornbeck.