Seismic / Research Positions

I don’t see much talk about the Seismic side in the Jobs Forums. I decided to start one to see what is going on in the field. I took a year off from the sea and am now trying to get back into the swing of things. My old spot was replaced by foreign captain (cheap).

I have contacted a few of the head hunter companies and the day rates they said they could get me were laughable. I have a 1600 Ton Masters (oceans) STCW as same but no DP, they said they could get me maybe 300-400. Any suggestions for companies running US flagged Seismic / Research vessels would be greatly appreciated.

As far as Seismic work, most stuff in the Gulf is foreign flag. You have Fairfield out of Houston, but they don’t have much working from what I know.

On the research side, I could be wrong but I don’t think the Woods Hole, or Scripps pay that well. Chouest has 2 research vessel, the Nathaniel B Palmer and the Laurence M Gould. I heard they are looking for people for the Gould, but not sure on that. No idea what the pay is. I am sure someone could fill you in on that.

As most Seismic Vessels nowadays are DP1, DP2, and DP3 you’ll probably find it difficult (at best) to find an opening in that niche of the Offshore Oilfield Industry. Don’t give up though…it seems that the oilfield has picked up some in the last week… I have had four job offers in just the last few days and have accepted one. I start Monday…

Congrats Steve!!!

[QUOTE=SailorDaniel;30979]Congrats Steve!!![/QUOTE]
Thanks Dan…

[QUOTE=stevefoster;30985]Thanks Dan…[/QUOTE]

So who did you end up going with?

Very good to hear Steve, hope I am not far behind.

[QUOTE=roversea;30992]Very good to hear Steve, hope I am not far behind.[/QUOTE]