Seeking Advice

As of last week I desided to take the plunge in to the Maritime Industry. I recieved my TWIC today and already passed my physical and drug test. Tomorrow I ship my package off to the Coast Guard to obtain my Z-Card.

I currently live in Virginia Beach and have been searching the net for as much info as I could get in regards to jobs as a OS deckhand on Tugs or anything similiar.

I am willing to travel as needed and I’m looking for fulltime work. I’m 32 years old and although I’m getting a late start in this industry I hear things will be picking up in the near future.

Any suggestions or information for a new Mariner would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome!:slight_smile:

I’m curious- you’re applying for your mmd- but are interested in AB job?
Do you have prior deckhand/vessel experience?

Anthony

Edited. Sorry about that. I meant to put OS-Ordinary Seaman. I have no prior experience.

I am a new Mariner looking for deckhand work or anything similiar. I currently hold a TWIC with recent passing physical and drug exams and plan on mailing my package off to the Coast Guard to obtain my Z-Card. I also hold a Certified Food Service Manager Certificate from the Virginia Beach Dept. of Public Health as I was a former Culinary Manager for Ruby Tuesday.

I am looking for the right company to give me an oppurtunity to help me create a career in the Maritime Industry and I am willing to work any shifts and hours needed as I have no other obligations that would prevent me from doing so. I’m 32 years old, single and looking for a fresh start.

Cooking is a plus … many tugs/OSVs don’t ship cooks. Could make you very popular.

Bread and Butter for Seagoing tugs is Gulf of Mexico (GOM) oilfield and petroleum transport.

Petroleum tansport - Penn employees seem like a pretty happy crowd. Hornbeck is not a bad company, though their boats are old-school. Transpotation usually paid.