Sea Service credit from NMC as Mate on non-"seagoing" ship exceeding license tonnage

All,

I hold a Master NMT 200GRT/500GT & have the opportunity to serve as Mate on a vessel >200GRT but <300GRT. She’s crewed by volunteers, carries no pax for hire or cargo & gets underway only on inland waters; she has no CoI & her CoD’s trade indicator is “Coastwise Unrestricted, Recreational.”

Before I move forward, I want to be sure NMC will credit the service to me as Mate for future upgrades, since 46CFR15.810© states “An individual in charge of the navigation or maneuvering of a self-propelled, uninspected, documented, SEAGOING vessel of 200 gross tons or over must hold an appropriate license or MMC authorizing service as mate.”

But 46USC2101(33) says ““seagoing motor vessel” means a motor vessel of at least 300 gross tons as measured under section 14502 of this title, or an alternate tonnage measured under section 14302 of this title as prescribed by the Secretary undersection 14104 of this title making voyages beyond the Boundary Line.” And 46CFR1101(3) says ““Seagoing vessel” means a self-propelled vessel in commercial service that operates beyond the Boundary Line established by 46 CFR part 7. It does not include a vessel that navigates exclusively on inland waters.”

Since the vessel is not “seagoing”, because it navigates only on inland waters & is not in commercial service, does this mean I can serve as Mate & be credited by NMC for the service? Many thanks, JGB

Little help on this one, guys?

As I recall no license is required for a yacht under 300 tons, so if that is still the case, it should be legal for you to serve as mate of a yacht under 300 tons. You will not be sailing on your license, as no license appears to be required, but you will acquire the seatime while holding a license. If in doubt ask your local USCG marine inspection office.