RFPNW... yeah, right

Greetings to all-knowing & wise forum members!

I’ve searched through many a pages looking for some clarity on this RFPNW issue as it applies to AB endorsements but have not stumbled across the one nugget of info that pertains to my case… I hold a 100 Ton Master license / STCW-95 w/ OICNW since 1999 and have just recently hired on w/ ECO and obtained my AB/Lifeboatman certification. I have a total of 1127 days of Sea Service on Ocean/NC waters, 331 days on vessels over 200 Tons… am I still required to complete my RFPNW assesements if I already rec’d my OICNW seal of approval on my STCW?
Any light shed on this is much appreciated.

OICNW is a mate designation.
You have a 100 GRT Master. You should not have an OICNW designation if this is the case. On your MMC, in ste STCW codes, do you have a code that says II/1 ?

and your 331 days of service on vessels over 200grt was in what capacity? OS or AB but not RFPNW? When did you first get your AB?

Read this

Your license (under 100 tons) is not covered under STCW95. It was covered under the ‘old STCW 78’ stuff. Everyone who has a small license was just thrown under the bus by the CG, and given the ‘non conforming’ stcw78 nod of approval. Anyone who has to work on vessels OVER100 tons on foreign voyages (and/or is hired by companies who want higher documented credentialed employees) must meet the STCW95 RFPNW or RFPEW (deck or engine). If you HAD done the full STCW (with a greater than 200 ton license) prior to the deadline (which was (I think) about 10 years ago, then you were indeed grandfathered. BUT, since you have a 100 ton license, it didn’t apply. So, unless for some strange reason you actually had the sheets signed off, while aboard a vessel OVER 200GT I doubt it is valid. The CG ‘gave’ SCTW RFPNW and OICNW STCW codes out to mariners who had documented this PRIOR to the deadline. If you didn’t document it, AND ask for it they didn’t give it out upon renewal.