Resume suggestions

Hey everyone,
I’m currently refreshing my resume to apply for jobs in the GOM. I’ve never worked in the GOM before, I’m a 3rd mate with full DP cert. Does anyone have any suggestions/tips for elements I should include on my resume to get hired by companies? Any suggestions for GOM companies at all?

Thanks

A resume is nice, but most GoM companies won’t even look at it. Show up in person and they either need you or they don’t. There might be a few exceptions, but generally, don’t bother with the resume.

Search resumes on here. I had mines professionally done by Kim. Went down to the GoM last year and handed them out. Never got a job I wanted then. This year I got two call backs from HR saying they’re looking over my resume and wanted me to come in. It’s hit or miss I guess.

I got the job I have now by knocking on doors.

[QUOTE=bt3579;136605]Hey everyone,
I’m currently refreshing my resume to apply for jobs in the GOM. I’ve never worked in the GOM before, I’m a 3rd mate with full DP cert. Does anyone have any suggestions/tips for elements I should include on my resume to get hired by companies? Any suggestions for GOM companies at all?

Thanks[/QUOTE]

Have a professional prepare a good resume and cover letter for you. Send them out, and had them out as you knock on doors.

With an unlimited license and DP unlimited, the good company paid headhunters like Core Group, Faststream, Flagship, and other will want to work with you. Same with the temp outfits like Oceanwide and C-MAR.

good info thanks

Clearly indicate position applied for in a short cover letter.

Use an agreeable font in black ink on white paper. Never a cursive or script font.

Be neat, concise and make no spelling mistakes.

Indicate clearly all your licenses, certificates including date of issue / expiry / validity, including driver’s license.

Indicate maritime and other relevant training