Recent Maritime Graduate looking for work

Greetings everyone,

I’m a recent graduate of SUNY Maritime College with a 3rd Mate unlimited tonnage license. I’m starting to realize that one of the school’s major shortcomings is with the lack of guidance for post-graduate life. With seagoing jobs scarce and the economy in the tank, its tough to find anything. Is it better to join a union and sit at the hall all day until something comes up or should i apply to everything and anything? Maybe look into tugs or ferries until something comes up?

If anyone has some advice I would really appreciate it.

-Jim

Any idea what segment of the industry interests you?

Tug and barge is always good for the experience. Expect to start on deck and NOT be in the wheelhouse for awhile. Tug and barge industry in NY harbor area tanked last spring, but is starting to show signs of life. Best pay for a deckhand would be at Reinauer or Bouchard. For quality of life, it’d be Reinauer (from what I hear). McAllister is run by SUNY grads, but mat not be hiring at this time.

Deep sea? MM&P or MEBA. Both have deck jobs and in the opinion of many will probably merge in the long run. Don’t expect to be making the big bucks right away. Applicants will generally be scraping for relief jobs or lower paying contracts.

MSC? Again, you might have to start on deck. Once you are working as mate, it is a great place to make some money and raise your license. You also tend to see some interesting ports. The downside is the lack of time off. It’s going back a few years, but I generally was working or at a school for 10-11 months out of the year.

Oil patch? You’d have to ask someone else, but it doesn’t sound good right now.