Different Jobs In the Maritime Sector

Hey,

I am a current high school student planning on attending SUNY Maritime next year. I talk to the people there and they sometimes just dont seem to know what to say half the time and I would really not like to wait till my senior year to know where I will end up working. All I really want to know right know is what jobs are out there. 

Primarily I would really enjoy working 6 months on, 6 months off. I have no idea if that is even possible. I also would enjoy working on Container ships. I dont really have a need to work off the coast so going around the world is not a problem.  Pay is also a thing the recruiters beef up I think so if someone can shoot straight with me on that, that would be fantastic. 

I can no think of any other questions at this moment but I do apoligize for spelling and grammer. Trying to make a dinner reservation. Sailing in the BVI right now not such great weather.

1 Like

I think finding container ships to sail on as an american license holder will be difficult. I also highly doubt that those vessels travel the world at all since jones act vessels usually don’t. If you want to see the world and don’t mind long hitches try MSC. You won’t get equal time but you will get a great experience. If I were single I would probably do that for a while myself.

Don’t be so set on deciding your career track now. You will learn a lot in school, see stuff on your cadet shipping, and possibly fall in live and not want to be gone. Maybe you well decide you actually want to handle boats so you will go towing or on OSVs.

Do people with MSC make as much as people working in the gulf on OSVs.

Drillships baby. Can’t beat the money, advancement potential, or the schedule. Just check your pride at the door and you certainly will not be seeing the world. But you can see the world with the money you will be swimming in. :smiley: