Older fool looking to go to sea

I’m 45, with an MA degree in International Relations and a collage of various low paying jobs on my resume that make me look like there is something wrong with my brain. Right now, I’m a substitute teacher and actor living in New York City. I always loved sailing as a younger fool, and my granddad told riveting stories about WW2. Well, not so riveting. I think he was slightly drunk on the handle of vodka he kept as mouthwash, but at that point I understood to be respectful and to focus in.

In any event, yes, I am entertaining the merchant marine, at this late date. Why, you ask. Well, I don’t have a family. What woman would take me? I need money. Who doesn’t? And I LOVE being out on the water: most of my experience with this is from sailing as a young fool. I’m not afraid of high spaces, or cramped spaces. I have an iron stomach. I learn good, and I pick things up. The drawbacks of me are: I’m not a huge chap, am no weakling, but not a hefty fella with bone crushing farmer’s hands. Perhaps more like a woman of above average strength, and with the wits to match! I’m old to be starting. I have eczema on my hands that is averse to intensive, frequent washings: something that kept me out of the medical field.

My question is, is there a path I could chart that might be more reliable than some, or even achievable, toward a 15 year careerish thing. I’m thinking sustainable body-wise. As one ages, the body breaks down. I’m thinking a role where it’s more likely for an aging greenhorn such as myself to get into without being the object of too much scorn, and then advance a little without buckling to potentially one day afford his own double wide. Nothing too fancy.