Photographing in the Bering Sea

Hi there,

First I want to say that I’m not a sailor or fisherman. I’m a photographer/videographer who’ll likely spend 3-5 days on a modern 260-ft trawler in the Bering Sea in the second half of February. And I need some advice. Hope you can help.

The most I ever spend on a fishing vessel was 16 hours some 60 miles off the coast of Newport, OR on a 50-ft vessel. Calm seas they were, but no horizon at all to balance myself, and that made for some terrible few hours of seasickness, until I had to start working (photographing the fishermen). Then I got better and was fine for the rest of the trip.

But this is different; Bering Sea in February. I am very, very excited, but also feel a bit uneasy.

My apologies if some question make you feel like you want to punch me in the face. We all ask stupid questions here and there. And I’d rather ask them here then up there, in the Bering Sea…

Seasickness: I’ve read a bunch about proven and unproven methods of preventing seasickness or making it easier on oneself. I hear that a lot of seamen get seasick in the first few days, too. What have you observed others do, or what have you used and done to make this easier or shorter?

Food and drug: What to eat and drink, and what not to? What OTC medicine should I bring? Any personal hygiene items I should bring with me in case I see no shower for 4 days?

Clothing: This jacket and bibs are pretty cheap. Good enough? What to wear underneath? What gloves should offer some dexterity and decent warmth?

Misc: Any useful things one wouldn’t think of but that would make things easier? A pocket knife, a leatherman, extra phone charger, headlamp?

Safety tips: What are big no-nos on a (fishing) vessel safety-wise? Or any other. I don’t want to endanger anyone, myself included.

And if there is anything else I didn’t mention and you believe everyone spending time on a vessel should know, please let me know.

Thank you in advance for your help and time!