PCTC Fremantle Highway On Fire

So another car carrier caught fire, reportedly starting in a stowed EV:

Is it just me, or does this keep happening with ever increasing frequency? Has someone plotted a graph of PCTC fires over time? If my hunch is correct, this will necessarily drive a change in how vehicles are transported by sea. Surely there must be some sort of limit to how far the insurance companies are willing to stay on this ride…

I’m no expert, but I guess such changes would have to involve smaller cargoes, smaller fire cells, fire boundary construction, fire suppression strategies (cell flooding?), or all of the above. Thoughts?

5 Likes

The commitment to going carbon neutral is causing people to turn a blind eye to safety.

Ships are carrying electric cars when they have no way of extinguishing a lithium fire.

Only a matter of time before there is an electric vehicle fire on a ferry packed full of people and there is no way of extinguishing the fire. Then there will be far more severe consequences.

6 Likes

This thread went to a dark place fast. Whew.

2 Likes

The marine industry is very reactive and not proactive when it comes to safety. Incidents have to happen before proper safety measures are taken.

We are starting to see more and more fires caused by EVs that can’t be put out by ship’s crew but no proper measures are being implemented to combat the risks.

Some ferry operators say their response to an EV fire would be to lower the ramp and push the car into the sea. If the EV is parked in the middle of lots of cars that would not be possible, also if it was bad weather they wouldn’t be able to lower the ramp. Also how would they release the handbrake on the car if it was fully ablaze.

EVs should probably be banned from ferries until they have an effective means of extinguishing a lithium fire. But that won’t happen because of the net zero commitment.

3 Likes