Pacific Maritime Institute Mate Program vs CMA

So currently I am a freshman at CMA in the MT Program. While I think the program here is a very good one, I don’t feel like it will prepare all that well for working on tugs. I have read this whole forum and while a lot of my questions have been anwsered, I still have a few more.

My Goal: to work on Tugs on the West Coast.

Looking at leaving CMA for the Mate Program at PMI in November.

Is anyone on this forum currently attending the Mate Program or has the contacts for someone that is? I would like to talk to a an actual student.
If I graduated from Cal Maritime with a 3rd Mates Unlimited where would I start in the Tug Industry? Can you qualify for a 1600 ton 2nd mates license?

Between the lower cost, less time, better location (I’m a Tacoma Native), One year of REAL Sea time on the vessels I will be working on, TOAR fulfilled, I can’t find anything wrong with the program. When I decided to go to CMA I was a Senior in High School who had a goal but didn’t know their were other options besides going to an academy.

I’m looking for some advice. Anything would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Jacob Ellestad

I’m not starting a academy vs anything debate just looking for advice on my current situation.

First of all I am almost positive you have to be an AB unlimted (or special maybe) to participate in PMI’s mate program second you really shouldn’t underestimate the value of having a bachlors degree I’m going to be going for my MBA starting next fall which would not be possible if I did not have that MT degree from CMA.

Since you’re a student at CMA, I would stick with it regardless of opinion otherwise. I’m sure PMI has a very good program, but they can’t grant a degree and once you leave, chances are that you’ll never go back. Be as diverse as you can be especially is this economy, your obviously young, and a degree will always give you an extra dimension. Everything else will follow through experience.