Considering the MITAGS workboat academy, what are your thoughts on the program?

Hello,

I am considering attending the MITAGS workboat academy. I have talked to a couple people at the school about the program and it sounds like a great program.

I would be interested in hearing what others think about this program and if it is worth the time and money. Is the MITAGS workboat academy looked at as a good thing in the eyes of potential employers, or do most companies want a 4 yr academy?

I have a bachelors degree from Florida State University, I worked in an office for 4yrs doing HR and know that office work is not for me. I grew up in Panama and my father worked for the Panama Canal in the Marine Traffic Division. I have been around the water and boats my entire life but have never worked in the industry.

I just turned 30 am I too old to be starting a new career in the maritime industry? I know a number of people who work in the industry and really like it.

I am interested the industry because I will not be working in an office, time off, pay, benefits, travel, job security etc.

Any info that you guys can provide me will be greatly appreciated. If anyone has completed the workboat academy I would love to hear your take on it.

Thank you!

Companies usually only care about the license. Having an academy degree helps when you want to go shoreside but rarely anywhere else. That said, you should check out the graduate degree program at suny. You get a 3rd mate unlimited and a masters degree in not much longer than it takes to get the 1,600 ton mate license from pmi.

Thanks for the reply Capt. Phoenix! I have not looked into SUNY, I will do that as well. When going into the Workboat academy how many hours per day do you think will be dedicated to school and studying? Is it an intense vigorous program? What kind of people are in this program? I just want to make sure I know as much as I can before I commit to giving them my hard earned cash.

Thanks!