Older Army Vet, Considering Fall 2017 MT

Hello Everyone,

First of all, let me say “thanks” to all of you that have contributed to this forum throughout the years. Reviewing all of the sincere questions, genuine answers, and brutally honest opinions has been informative, encouraging, and entertaining to me.

I’m interested in hearing what cadets and alumni have to say about older students attending CSUM.

I’m a 37 year old active duty Army Officer, and am preparing to be medically retired this summer under honorable conditions after 9 years of service. I hold two bachelor’s degrees and have an exemplary academic record, although it’s been 12 years since I graduated from college. Despite having only minimal, recreational experience at sea, I am exploring the possibility of starting a maritime career and have applied for the CSUM MT program in Fall 2017.

I’m used to working with young Soldiers, and am comfortable with the fact that the majority of my classmates would be 15+ years younger than me. I’m confident in my ability to succeed academically in the program, and I’m also not concerned about adjusting to life as a cadet as I’m no stranger to uniforms, standards, inspections, and basic discipline, etc.

My questions are as follows:

Have you seen cadets my age, or with my background gain acceptance to the academy?

If so, how would you describe the interaction between older cadets and their first-time freshman counterparts? Older cadets and seniors? Older cadets and faculty/staff?

How do you think a 40+ year-old Third Mate would be treated by the industry?

Lastly, I see that the admission requirements stipulate that my last college math course cannot be older than five years, and I clearly do not meet this requirement. Do you think this is a complete show-stopper, or have you seen CSUM admissions offer some flexibility or special consideration to military Veterans?

Thanks in advance if you can offer any insight or guidance.