OK, I admit it

I’m a former NOAA Corps Officer. I know, I know. But, I have to say, back when I was in the NOAA Corps (1988 - 1991), I was really lucky to have a super old school hard assed training officer during OCS. Made us really get down to the basics. Which was probably because he was a licensed mariner and had graduated from SUNY before he joined the corps.

I’m extremely thankful for the opportunity that I had. I mean, tell me where else a 22 year old is going to get to drive a 300’ ship from north of Barrow all the way south to Antarctica? And since it was a single screw steam plant, I really had to learn how to think more than a few ship lengths ahead.

I’ve taken all those lessons and applied them to my sailing career, and am proud to say that it has been a pretty good 21 years so far, and I’m looking forward to another, oh, let’s say 10 more years on the water.

Any other former (or current) NOAA Corps types out there? Feel free to PM me if you are a bit reticent to come out in public…

Cheers all,
Jill

I’d be interested in hearing your opinion of life in the NOAA Corps. I’m considering applying myself and haven’t been able to find much information from people who currently serving or have served previously. I have my 3rd Engineer’s license but think I might like to try the view from the bridge.

Anyone else is welcome to add their comments.

Cheers,
Steve

[QUOTE=StevenT;15916]I’d be interested in hearing your opinion of life in the NOAA Corps. [/QUOTE]

Hi Steve,

I was in the NOAA Corps quite awhile ago ('88-'91), so I’m not sure how relevant or accurate my experience would be to what it is like now. That being said, I had a great time and only got out because I fell in love and didn’t want to leave the Seattle area. Looking back, that was probably a mistake (not the least of which is because that relationship only lasted another year), but I have no regrets because I can’t imagine having a better career than I’ve had over the past 20 years.