Attention job seekers! NOAA! Opportunities available!

A lot of ‘old evil’ has been banished from the civilian mariner sector within the NOAA fleet recently. Most of whom were licensed personnel who wore out their welcome years ago. And it ain’t over yet.
Anyway…
NOAA is always looking for a few good(and nice)men and women to replenish the ranks.

How are the AB positions there? I’m thinking about putting in an application.

I’ve always heard it’s rather low pay and more days worked than commercial vessels.

Is it basically on par with what an MSC AB would be getting?

From what I’ve heard (I have no first hand experience with NOAA) it’s way, way less than MSC.

1 Like

I’ve applied a couple times over the last 5 years (because of two seperate lay offs) and never got a response.

2 Likes

The annual base pay salary for AB is 42K-45K.
However…
You can almost double that amount with overtime pay.
Depends on the type of vessel. Fishery vessels pay the best and trips are no longer than two weeks.
Annual leave, shore leave, and sick leave accrue, too.

Ha!! I had forgotten about this site and finally something I can help with… NOAA is a great place to sail. I sailed at MSC through OIF & OEF as an AB / SAR Swimmer and had an excellent experience and literally traveled the world…I needed a change and took a few years off then was ready to head back out to MSC but they were not hiring, but NOAA was… As we all know Govt application processes can be a challenge but if you can navigate the admin it moves along quite well(note: NOAA is supposed to have a streamlined hiring “portal” soon, stand by).