OICNW NVIC 11-07 Endorsement and Exam question

1. If I have a 1600/3000 master ocean, ARPA, GMDSS, ECDIS, VSO, med care provider, flashing light, and STCW A-II/2 rating, can I complete the assessments in NVIC 11-07 to have OICNW added to my STCW/MMC certificate on my next renewal, without testing or applying for an upgrade to 3rd Mate at the same time? I just want the OICNW endorsement for now, and then work on 3rd Mate after that. I have about 6 years as master/mate time on my current license.

2. In the examination section 4 d (2), it seems that I will need to test again since I did not take a mates exam after Feb 2002. However, it also says, “…must complete the examinations described above [U][I][B]OR[/B][/I][/U] complete an approved alternative to demonstrate that they have achieved the required standard of competence for knowledge based KUPs.” So, what is an “approved alternative”, I cannot figure out to what they are referring?

3. What are the current routes to go directly to 2M or CM, from either a 3000 master or 6000 OSV master, if any?

Anchorman, jdcavo, capt.lee, and c.captain; you guys are quite knowledgeable and helpful; perhaps you can shed some light on these question for me. I am asking only because I want to know what my options are and what the smartest plan of attack is, so I do not duplicate efforts or miss something crucial.

Thank you in advance to all those who reply!

Got to go through 3/m first, I don’t see how you can skip it (it looks like you’re aware of that) and then with sea time you can upgrade to 2/m with only having to take flashing light

1. No.

2. One of the approved academies including the Navy and Coast Guard Academies, check the CFR’s for the complete list.