Off campus living

Hello everyone, I just received my acceptance letter to texas maritime for the spring of 15’.my question is where are some good places to live off campus. I am a 6 year veteran from the navy also married so I was told I would be in victor company. I am currently looking to move to league city but do not know how the area is. Can anyone please help on this subject . I just want to make sure I don’t move my family I. The middle of the ghetto lol

Howdy,

Congratulations, btw!

Wen I first arrived here, I thought living off the island of Galveston might be an ok idea. After being here for a while though, I am so glad I don’t. For example, I am writing this at home right now during a three hour gap between classes and the Corps Activity this afternoon. Living too far away, you, in this situation would have to hang around campus, which I have found isn’t always the most optimal study environment (there is NOTHING else to do at school) if you haven’t got a room to go to. Also, I have a few friends who started out living in League City/ Kemah/ Pasadena but who, after making that drive both ways for a few weeks, ended up on the island.

You’ll be very surprised by how much time you’ll be spending on-campus. Study groups, Corps activity, maintenance, labs, (and the infrequent formation for Victor) on top of classes add up to a lot of trips to and from each week. Give it some thought. There is a guy who comes down here from Katy everyday so I guess it’s possible, just not what I’d recommend.