Oceans vs. Near Coastal

Looking at sea service requirements on the checklists I noticed the requirements were the same for Oceans and Near Coastal. Is it just a matter of taking the extra ocean exam modules?

[QUOTE=“cowboy;117554”]Looking at sea service requirements on the checklists I noticed the requirements were the same for Oceans and Near Coastal. Is it just a matter of taking the extra ocean exam modules?[/QUOTE]

I just finished my exams for 3rd mate and all of the tests said Oceans on them…I’m getting my Near Coastal. I mentioned it to the proctor and she didn’t seem to have an answer. I believe the only difference is Celestial Nav exam and another 25 questions or so on a Nav gen test. My evaluator at the NMC instructed me to do my flashing light certification as well…he said I still need it for Near Coastal. I’m sure JDC will jump in and correct any wrong info. Hope this helps.

I got a 150 NC Master and 500 inland master and was trying to figure out how to get the oceans on the 500 ticket. While scanning the checklists I noticed that the seatime requirements for 500 mate oceans were the same as master 200 near coastal, which I already have…so I was wondering if I could take the STCW courses and a limited exam and get the 500 mate oceans license.

[QUOTE=RubberRhib888;117557]I just finished my exams for 3rd mate and all of the tests said Oceans on them…I’m getting my Near Coastal. I mentioned it to the proctor and she didn’t seem to have an answer. I believe the only difference is Celestial Nav exam and another 25 questions or so on a Nav gen test. My evaluator at the NMC instructed me to do my flashing light certification as well…he said I still need it for Near Coastal. I’m sure JDC will jump in and correct any wrong info. Hope this helps.[/QUOTE]

Find and use the NMC exam guide: http://www.uscg.mil/nmc/training/pdfs/deck_and_engineering_guide.pdf