NVIC 10-14 and Management of Medical Care

Currently working towards a STCW >3000GT Chief Mates ticket. My sea service towards this endorsement started prior to 3/24/14. I hold a 1600GRT/3000GT Masters in addition to a 2/M Unlimited/OICNW. I have chosen to follow the new NVIC 10-14 assessment regime just in case I can’t get finished before 12/31/16. (I also used my one “raise-in-grade after 3/24/14” on my 1600/3000 Masters, which I think voids the 2019 deal with the old assessments.)

On to the actual question. NVIC 10-14 tasks 19.1.A, 19.2.A, and 19.3.A refer to a required course - Management of Medical Care. These are also “Note 1” assessments not required for holders of a 3000GT Masters (like quite a number of the others). NVIC 10-14 and the NMC STCW checklist for >3000GT Chief Mate state that I can opt to use either assessment regime (04-02 or 10-14), and the new course schedule is a separate check box listed under the heading “If sea service started after 3/24/14”. The issue I see is that the assessments and courses are intertwined in NVIC 10-14.

So, is Management of Medical Care required for me? And under what rule does that answer follow?

To date, I have received 3 conflicting answers from NMC:

• One “no” it’s not required, since my service started before 3/24/14 (supposedly confirmed by a supervisor). But this implies I can use the 10-14 assessments and not take ANY courses, which seems… odd),
  • One vague “yes” it is required,
  • One ‘since your service was before 3/24/14, you HAVE to use the old assessments’ (which is easily refuted as wrong).