Non Smoker Protection in the wheel house or galley

Are there any USCG regulations that protect Non-smokers from cigarette smoke in the common areas of the vessel such as wheelhouse and Galley. I am a master and was fired by the Sr. Captain for complaining about him and others, smoking in the wheelhouse while I was on duty

If you were the master, why didn’t you order no smoking or fire the smokers ?

What does it say in the SMS or employee handbook about smoking inside? I’ve never seen one that didn’t prohibit it.

In theory, OSHA regulations might apply to restrict smoking.

As a practical matter, non smokers have whatever protection the master is willing to give them.

2 Likes

I hold a Master license but on this vessel I am the relief , not SR captain. The authority is not in my hands. But thanks for the comment.

1 Like

State laws may apply concerning banning smoking in the workplace or retaliating. Louisiana has such laws. Jurisdiction can get tricky with ships though so you’d need to contact some state resource or lawyer to ask about ships and/or workplaces applicability.

In reality, you were sailing as Mate, regardless of whatever ridiculous titles they use down in the Louisiana oil patch.

Whatever the law might say, you know that boat trash does not have any rights in Louisiana.

The marine employment thread tells us that all the companies down there are Great, and they are all hiring, for all positions. So it’s surprising that they can afford to fire a non smoker just for complaining about smokers. Maybe jobs are not so plentiful and bayou companies are not so great.

4 Likes

I hope you know it doesn’t matter what sector you work in deepsea, oilfield, yachts or towing, we’re all just boat trash. Don’t think for a minute any of us would keep our jobs if 3rd world labor could be used.

6 Likes