Newbie here

Hello everyone, and greetings to where ever you may be. I’m not exactly sure how I got here, but somehow, someway I did and have spent about the past 3 days reading the posts and thought I should join.

As a new mariner in the making, I’ve found this site to be very informative, the posts are great and I want to take full advantage of the advice and wisdom in these pages and posts.

What got me here was my friend who worked for the SIU and hearing his stories and how amazing the Unlicensed Apprenticeship program was in Piney Point, MD. So on September 9th 2009, I set out to get my TWIC and MMC as they were still taking applications for the program. Unfortunately, a few months had passed and I never received a phone call when my TWIC card came in as I would call the main TWIC help desk, saying the card was in transit. After a few months had passed, I was getting worried and took the initiative to call my local office and they said it was there. It was a relief, how ever I had no idea how long it had been sitting there. So with MMC and TWIC in hand I went to apply for the UA program only to find out they are no longer accepting applications, and the program has stopped indefinitely. You can imagine how I felt, but I wasn’t going to let this stop me from reaching my goal. Not long after, I came home with a message on my answering machine saying my TWIC card had arrived, lol!!!

At the moment I’m sitting in idle, awaiting a response from Military Sealift Command on a Supply Utilityman position. They seem like a great outfit and having no sea time or experience, it would seem the best route for me to take. The latest update with them is my application is complete and I should hear from them 4-6 weeks.

I hate sitting Idle, and wonder if there is something I can do that would make me a more attractive candidate for an entry level career at sea?