Newb joining the industry

Hello! I am new to the industry and just took an offer with ECO as an OS deckhand. Im 43 yrs old and starting a new career. Ive been in construction for the past 21 yrs and excited to start something new and challenging. I leave on 8/14 to fly out to La. and start a 2 week basic saftey training before boarding a vessel to start work.

I would like to know what to expect and how to prepare myself for this journey. If anyone has any advice on what items one should pack or anything else, I would greatly appreciate it and thank anyone for the time and feedback.

Incase anyone is wondering if Im crazy for wanting to take on a new career this late in life, Ill save you the time and answer "Yes! "
After 21 years of installing flooring, beating my body up, chasing the $ through the ups and downs of the economy, (running my own business for the last 10 yrs.) I’ve finally hit a point where this career is going know where.
I understand that there will be challenges I will face in the Maritime industry, but that is what Im willing to accept and looking forward to overcome.

I look forward to hearing any insight and again, thanks in advance…

Eyes open mouth shut & listen a lot. Make sure you understand what is asked of you. No whistling in the wheelhouse! The myths and realities of being at sea will quickly become apparent. Enjoy.

2 Likes

There are no more challenges in the maritime industry than any other new job. You might have to wear steel toed shoes but other than that it’s like working any place else. Follow instructions and learn. You’re like a new hire McDonald’s employee, only difference is you are on a floating franchise.

2 Likes

Thank you!

Much appreciated!
I wondering what the living situation is like and how one should pack. I’d like to be prepared, yet dont want to bring too much either. I’m packing basic work clothes and a few clean change of clothes. Also taking a backpack for carry-on.