New to this

Hey guys, Iam new to this industry and just wanted some info from guys who been through it. My background is in the oilfield. From the research that I have done it seems like the 2 industries are similar, as far as time away from home, pay scale and just the overall toughness of the job. Now the question I have is, is this industry a boom and bust industry as well? Like right now the oilfield is down and since I have been in the process of getting my mmc, it seems like the merchant mariner industry is down as well. Is it just in a lull right now, or is the industry in trouble? Thanks guys and be safe out there.

Offshore wind support vessels and harbor tugs seem to be two areas of the industry that probably have a good long term future.

1 Like

Offshore wind support is a segment everyone hopes will be a future growth segment. There certainly isn’t any opportunity there currently.

3 Likes

I like to think of it as Feast or Famine.

Lol. So yes. Thats fine, Iam definitely use to it. In the oilfield Its usually famine time about every 4-5 years, at least since I been in it.

Crew change during a pandemic sure hasn’t helped the industry. Even aside from that, it is subject to many external and internal factors. If your lifestyle can roll with the punches, it can be a good career.

Yep, just like the oilfield. I think it would be an easy transition for me.

Industry very much rolls with the economic times. Money isn’t what you’d expect, at least not initially. Probably way more credentialing than the oilfield but I could be wrong. You’ll need to pick a sector and stick with it in order to see some real returns, but a good career for sure. Get a job on deck and start building seatime. It will take longer than you think. Also, get your twic card. Getting hired as a green deckhand isn’t easy now but it can be done. This forum has all the info you’ll need. Good luck and welcome!