Need inspiration for bachelorproject

Good day,

I am a student at Svendborg International Maritime Academy in Denmark - at the moment i am doing my final seapractice
in the Torm tankers(Deck cadet). When I return end of beginning of September i will have to take my final courses and write a bachelorassignment
before i complete my education and start as a 3rd mate in Torm.

I am looking for a interesting theme/problem, which relates to the maritime world and i hope to find some inspiration here. I am aiming to find
something where there are several reliable sources and information in general is available. I can give examples of what fellow students have wroten about before:

• Improvement of I.G. system
  • Efficiency of Vapur Recovery System
  • Rest hours
  • Noise & Vibrations affecting work and living enviroment
  • Food
  • Piracy

What i need is a concrete problem or something that i believe needs improvement. I have tried to make a brainstorm for my self and i find these topics of interest:

• Radar X and S-band; Reliability of radars, errors and other problems

• Full ECDIS versus ordinary Paper charts (pros and cons)

• GMDSS equipment - is there need for improvement?

• Safety when mooring/unmooring - can there be done anything to get a safer work enviroment here?

• Rest hours - My experiences show, that crews are sliced down to minimum - this is especially hard, when trading in West-Africa regions with piracy wathc, etc. What can be done?

• Garbage management and de-slopping/sludging - Why is it so expensive to get rid of garbage and sludge/residues in port? This motivates everybody to throw garbage overbord. What can be done?

• General maintenace - my experiences from Torm show that the “Life cycle costs/Life cycle profits” concept is not really applied when ordering new buildings or spare parts. They just order the cheapest they can get.